Writesonic vs BrandWell mostly comes down to how easy each one is to leave. Writesonic offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card on its self-serve plans, while BrandWell's own pages disagree about whether it has a trial at all and its refund and commitment terms are strict. DeepSmith is a strong alternative on those same terms: a 7-day trial with real data and real drafts before you pay, no long-term contracts, and no cancellation fees.
If you are choosing between Writesonic and BrandWell (formerly Content at Scale), the feature lists look similar on the surface. Both write articles, both publish to a CMS, and both now track AI answers. What separates them is what you can try before paying and what happens if you change your mind. DeepSmith sits next to both as a third option for teams that want to test a tool on their own data first.
Writesonic vs BrandWell: the short answer
- Choose DeepSmith if you want to see real tracking data and real drafts on a 7-day trial before paying, then stay on a month-to-month plan from $99 with no long-term contract and no cancellation fee.
- Choose Writesonic if you want a card-free 7-day trial on a self-serve plan from $79 a month billed annually, with AI visibility tracking and an article writer in the same plan.
- Choose BrandWell if you are happy to pay from day one, you want 25 articles a month on the $249 RankWell Essentials plan, and you will read the refund terms closely before you check out.
Writesonic vs BrandWell at a glance
| Criterion | DeepSmith | Writesonic | BrandWell |
|---|---|---|---|
| Entry price (monthly) | $99/mo (Pro) | $99/mo (Starter, vendor-stated) | $249/mo (RankWell Essentials) |
| Annual price (per month) | $80/mo (Pro) | $79/mo (Starter) | Not listed |
| Articles at entry tier | 20 a month | 15 a month | 25 a month |
| Free trial | 7-day free trial | 7-day, no credit card | Partial, conflicting messages |
| Refunds and cancellation | No cancellation fees | Not listed | 3-day guarantee, strict terms |
| Commitment | No long-term contracts | Annual plans paid for 12 months | Term plans bind for the full term |
| Engines at entry tier | ChatGPT | ChatGPT, Gemini, Google AI Overviews | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, Perplexity |
| Brand voice and knowledge grounding | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| CMS publishing | Yes | Yes | Yes |
| Scheduled hands-off writing | Yes | Not listed | Partial, needs approval |
| AI visibility tracking | Yes | Yes | Yes, quotas not stated |
| Competitor topic gaps | Yes | Not listed | Partial |
| SOC 2 | Yes | Yes | Not listed |
| Review rating | 4.8/5 on G2 | 4.7/5 on G2 | 9.1/10 on TrustRadius |
Pricing and features as of September 2026, from each vendor's site and public reviews.
Writesonic

Writesonic started in 2021 as an AI writing tool and now describes itself as an AI search growth engine. Its plans track how AI assistants mention and cite your brand, then use an Action Center, AI agents and the Article Writer to act on what the tracking finds. The self-serve plans are Starter, Basic and Growth at $79, $199 and $399 a month billed annually, and each covers ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews. The full ten-engine set and most of the action features sit on custom Enterprise plans.
The standout for this comparison is the trial. Writesonic says you can start free with no credit card on Starter, Basic and Growth, and several current pages state seven days. The plans are also easy to inspect, because the pricing page lists prompts, daily answers, articles, audits and users for each tier.
The real limits are the gaps in what it publishes. Month-to-month prices are not shown on the pricing page, so the $99, $249 and $499 monthly figures are implied by its annual savings badges, and Starter's $99 comes from a comparison page. Its refund terms were also not on the pages we could read. Review sentiment is large but mixed: G2 shows 4.7/5 from 2,133 reviews and Capterra 4.8/5 from 2,102, though most of those reviews describe the older writing product. The complaints that come up most are about pricing, credit limits and changing plan allowances.
BrandWell

BrandWell is the 2024 rebrand of Content at Scale, and it has grown into a wider growth platform with intent data, visitor identification and outreach products. The part this comparison cares about is RankWell, its content product. RankWell covers content planning, research briefs, drafting from keywords, URLs, video or audio, an SEO editor, internal linking and publishing to WordPress, Contentful or Google Docs. Visibility is bundled into every plan and tracks answers on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity. Plans are $249, $499 and $999 a month for 25, 50 and 100 articles.
The standout is a clear article workflow with a published monthly price and bundled tracking. The limitation is how the company presents its own terms. The current pricing page offers direct checkout with a 3-day satisfaction guarantee and no trial. A separate registration page advertises a 7-day free trial with no credit card, and still shows 12-month commitment plans from $899 to $2,999 a month. The terms then say that a RankWell trial, where one is offered, requires payment details.
Anyone searching Writesonic vs Content at Scale is looking at this same product under its old name. Third-party evidence is thin. Capterra's older Content at Scale listing has five reviews from 2023 at 4.0/5, TrustRadius has two at 9.1/10, and G2 could not be matched. Older reviewers praise long drafts and time saved, and also report outdated facts and editing work.
DeepSmith: the alternative with a 7-day trial and no long-term contract

The gap that Writesonic and BrandWell leave for a cautious buyer is not a missing feature. It is the cost of finding out whether the tool works for you. Writesonic gives you a free week, though you then choose between annual and monthly billing with the monthly price hidden. BrandWell asks for payment up front and gives you three days of recourse under conditions. Neither one is built around letting you judge the output before you commit.
DeepSmith is built around that. It offers a 7-day free trial with real data and real drafts before you pay. Signup takes you to a working workspace in minutes, with your brand brief, competitors, starter tracking prompts and a first batch of ideas already populated. Plans run month to month at $99 for Pro, $199 for Grow and $399 for Scale, or $80, $160 and $299 a month billed annually. There are no long-term contracts and no cancellation fees. Pro tracks ChatGPT, Grow adds Perplexity, and Scale adds Gemini.
What you try is also more than a writing tool. DeepSmith tracks how AI engines answer questions about your brand, and Content Map compares your site against competitor sites to show the topic gaps and untapped topics. Opportunity Agents turn that data into ideas with the supporting data point attached, so the data decides what gets written. The Writer then produces a finished, brand-grounded article, and Autowrite can generate it on a scheduled date and land it in Produced Content, where you review and publish to WordPress, Webflow, Strapi, Sanity or Contentful. Deep IQ keeps your brand context in one place so every draft starts from it. DeepSmith is rated 4.8/5 on G2 and is SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certified.


Free trial terms
Writesonic wins this one clearly. In a Writesonic vs BrandWell trial comparison, it is the only one with a trial its own pages agree on. It offers a 7-day free trial with no credit card on Starter, Basic and Growth, and the vendor's own pricing page says to start free with no card needed. Enterprise and the agency plans are demo-led, so the trial applies to the self-serve tiers only.
BrandWell's pages do not agree with each other. The pricing page has no trial and offers a 3-day satisfaction guarantee on RankWell. The registration page promises 7 days free with no card. The terms say a RankWell trial requires payment details and converts to a paid plan. My read is that you cannot count on a free trial with BrandWell until support confirms it in writing, and the most you can rely on is the 3-day guarantee.
What DeepSmith does: the 7-day free trial gives you real data and real drafts before you pay, and onboarding fills in your brand brief, competitors, starter prompts and first ideas first. That means you spend the trial judging output on your own topics instead of setting things up.
Refunds and cancellation
BrandWell's terms are the stricter of the two, and they are also the ones written down. Payments are non-refundable except for the 3-day RankWell guarantee, which only applies if you generated no more than two articles and published or exported none. Unused content credits are forfeited after the billing period following cancellation. A nonrenewal request has to be completed at least 48 hours before renewal. One 2025 Trustpilot review alleges charges after an attempted cancellation, though that is unverified and it is the only review on that page.
For Writesonic, the pages we could read do not state refund terms. One third-party research report says a seven-day refund window and says cancellation or a downgrade takes effect at the next billing cycle, but the first-party pages did not show it. So Writesonic looks easier to leave, but the evidence is weaker, and I would ask for the refund terms in writing before buying an annual plan.
What DeepSmith does: there are no cancellation fees and no long-term contracts, so ending a plan is a cancellation and not a negotiation.
Commitment and credits
Writesonic is more flexible here, mostly because its credits are easier to read. Its annual prices are the ones displayed, and annual subscriptions are paid for twelve months. The monthly rate is higher and is not shown on the pricing page. Its published limits are clear for each tier, with 15, 25 and 50 articles a month on Starter, Basic and Growth. Reviewers do complain about pricing, credit limits and changing allowances, mostly in reviews of the older writing product. An older help-center plan doc also lists different limits than the current pricing page, and the pricing page is the one to trust.
BrandWell's commitment picture depends on which page you land on. Month-to-month services renew monthly, but commitment plans bind you for the full term even when you pay in monthly installments. The registration page still shows 12-month commitment plans, and it is unclear whether those are still sold to new buyers. If you buy there, confirm in writing which plan and which terms you are getting.
Pricing and value
In a BrandWell vs Writesonic price check, the entry plans line up like this.
For price alone, Writesonic is cheaper at the entry level, and BrandWell gives more articles. Writesonic Starter is $79 a month billed annually, or $99 month to month by the vendor's own statement, with 15 articles, 50 tracked prompts and three engines. BrandWell Essentials is $249 a month for 25 articles, with Visibility included on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity. The two prices are not like for like, because Writesonic's includes prompt tracking with stated limits and BrandWell's does not state how many tracked questions or checks you get.
Moving up, Writesonic Growth is $399 a month billed annually for 50 articles, 200 prompts and two projects. BrandWell Growth is $499 for 50 articles, Programmatic SEO and Link Builder, and Scale is $999 for 100 articles. Both vendors gate features by plan: Writesonic keeps the full Action Center and most reporting on Enterprise, and BrandWell keeps Link Builder and Programmatic SEO on Growth and above.
What DeepSmith does: the published plans are Pro at $99, Grow at $199 and Scale at $399, with 20, 40 and 90 articles a month and 50, 100 and 200 tracked prompts, so you can see the allowance before you start the trial.
Engine coverage and tracking
BrandWell covers more engines on its entry plan, and Writesonic is deeper on what it reports. BrandWell lists ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity on every RankWell plan, but it does not state check quotas, sampling frequency, retention, or whether it uses official APIs or consumer interfaces. Writesonic's self-serve plans list ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, with daily tracking, share of voice, sentiment on Growth, citation analysis and AI crawler analytics on every plan. Its ten-engine set is Enterprise only.
Neither tracker is a complete count of AI exposure, and a sample of answers is an estimate. That matters more for a decision about trial terms than it sounds, since a short trial is where you find out whether a tracker's numbers are stable enough to act on.
From insight to action
Writesonic is closer to a loop from tracking to writing, and BrandWell is closer to a content workflow with tracking attached. Writesonic's Action Center ranks on-page, off-page and technical fixes, and the Article Writer produces long-form articles that can go to WordPress, Sanity, Contentful, Webflow and Ghost. The full Action Center is Enterprise, and Growth gets a limited version. BrandWell's RankWell plan flags what to create, optimize or merge, and publishes to WordPress, Contentful or Google Docs. Scheduling and publishing need an approved delivery path, so the pipeline does not run on its own.
What DeepSmith does: Content Map and the AI visibility data decide what to write, Opportunity Agents return ideas with the evidence attached, and Autowrite generates articles on set dates and lands them in Produced Content. Publishing goes to WordPress, Webflow, Strapi, Sanity or Contentful from there, and Deep IQ keeps each draft on brand.
Which should you choose
- DeepSmith: the broadest fit if you want to test tracking and writing on your own data before paying, keep a month-to-month plan, and have Content Map gaps and Autowrite scheduling decide and deliver what gets written.
- Writesonic: the better pick of the two if a card-free 7-day trial matters most and you want tracking, an Action Center and an article writer on a self-serve plan, with the understanding that its refund terms should be confirmed in writing.
- BrandWell: the fit if you mainly need a high volume of SEO articles, you are comfortable paying before you try it, and you have read the 3-day guarantee conditions, the credit forfeiture and the term commitments.
Start a DeepSmith trial
If you would like to judge tracking and drafts on your own topics before you pay anything, you can start a free DeepSmith trial.



