DeepSmith

Oct 26 · Tools & Comparisons

11 min read

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit vs HubSpot AEO: Pros and Cons for InfoSec Approval

Avinash Saurabh
Avinash Saurabh · CO-Founder & CEO
Charcoal cover with a white outline shield and checkmark linked to two document cards and a padlock, under the line AI Visibility Security Review.

HubSpot AEO sits under a platform with a SOC 2 Type II report, while the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit documents SAML SSO but only company-level compliance, so each one answers a different security question. HubSpot AEO is still a beta product with an undisclosed methodology, and neither vendor documents a full AI visibility API. DeepSmith is SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certified, has a documented read-only API and MCP server, and writes and publishes the articles that close the gaps it finds.

If your security team has to sign off on an AI visibility tool, the comparison of Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit vs HubSpot AEO for enterprise teams comes down to what each vendor can put in front of a reviewer. HubSpot gives you a SOC 2 report at the platform level. Semrush gives you SSO and a security page that stops at company level. The full feature comparison is in our Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit vs HubSpot AEO feature guide. DeepSmith comes in as a third option that covers both kinds of evidence.

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit vs HubSpot AEO security: the short answer

  • Choose DeepSmith if you want SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certification, a documented read-only API and MCP server, and one platform that tracks AI answers and produces the publish-ready articles, from $99 a month with a 7-day free trial.
  • Choose Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit if SSO is the item on your checklist and your team already works in Semrush, and a SOC 2 report specific to the toolkit is not required.
  • Choose HubSpot AEO if a SOC 2 report from the vendor is the gate, you can accept a beta product, and the platform-level trust center covers what your reviewers ask for.

Security and procurement comparison

CriterionDeepSmithSemrush AI Visibility ToolkitHubSpot AEO
Entry price (monthly)$99/mo (Pro)$99/mo (standalone)$50/mo
Free trial7-day free trialPartial, none for the standalone toolkit28-day free trial
SOC 2 reportYesNot listedYes, platform level
Other certificationsGDPR, ISOPCI DSS Level 1, GDPR adherence (company level)SOC 1 Type II, SOC 3, HIPAA, GDPR
SSO / SAML-Yes, through product supportPartial, Marketing Hub Enterprise tier
Data hosting-United States data centersUS, EU, Canadian and Australian regions
Public APIYes, read-onlyPartial, no AI visibility API documentedPartial, beta read API
MCP serverYes, 23 read-only toolsPartial, SEO data onlyPartial, HubSpot connector
CMS publishingYesNot listedPartial, HubSpot blog only
Review rating4.8/5 on G24.4/5 on G2 (Semrush suite)4.4/5 on G2

Pricing and features as of September 2026, from each vendor's site and public reviews.

Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit

Homepage of the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit, an AI visibility product inside the Semrush platform.

The toolkit is the AI visibility part of the Semrush platform, sold standalone at $99 a month or bundled with SEO tools in Semrush One at $199 to $549 a month. It tracks ChatGPT, Google AI Overviews, AI Mode, Gemini and Perplexity, with coverage that varies by report. Semrush has been owned by Adobe since April 2026, which is a fact your vendor risk team will probably want on file.

For a security review, the useful parts are SAML SSO, which Semrush says is enabled by contacting support, two-factor authentication, annual penetration tests and a bug bounty. Its security page cites PCI DSS Level 1 and GDPR adherence, and says nothing about SOC 2. All of that is described at the company level, and Semrush's own pages do not tie a certification to the toolkit. Service data is stored in United States data centers. The standalone plan covers one user, and each extra user needs another $99 license.

Review ratings cover the Semrush suite as a whole, with 4.4/5 on G2 from 4,046 reviews checked in September 2026, so they say little about the toolkit itself.

HubSpot AEO

Homepage of HubSpot AEO, HubSpot's answer engine optimization tool.

HubSpot AEO tracks ChatGPT, Gemini and Perplexity daily. It costs $50 a month on its own, or comes included in Marketing Hub Professional and Enterprise. HubSpot labels it beta.

The security story comes from the HubSpot platform. Its trust center lists SOC 1 Type II, SOC 2 Type II, SOC 3, HIPAA and GDPR, and accounts can be hosted in the US, EU, Canada or Australia. HubSpot's own documentation does not name AEO in the scope of those reports, so a reviewer may ask for that to be confirmed. SAML SSO is available at the Enterprise tier, and whether a standalone AEO subscription gets it is not stated. The pages also don't say how answers are collected, which model versions run, or how long answers are kept.

G2 shows 4.4/5 from 145 reviews for HubSpot AEO as of September 2026, with reviewers mentioning easy setup, and asking for more engines and deeper reporting.

DeepSmith: the alternative that is certified, open and complete

Homepage of DeepSmith, an AI search analytics and content production platform.

Reviewers of AI visibility tools usually ask what has been audited, what can be read out through an API, and what happens after the tool finds a gap. Semrush and HubSpot each answer part of that. HubSpot has the platform audit report and a beta read API, and Semrush has SSO and a broad measurement toolkit that does not write content.

DeepSmith is SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certified, so the certification question has a direct answer for the product you would be buying. Developer access is documented at docs.deepsmith.ai. The REST API is read-only and uses scoped keys, runs at 120 requests per minute per workspace, and reads spend no credits. The MCP server gives an AI assistant 23 read-only tools for the workspace, so your own security review can confirm that neither one can change content. Webhooks are signed with HMAC-SHA256. SSO is not described in DeepSmith's product documentation, so confirm that directly if your policy requires it.

DeepSmith's Your Cited Pages view attributes citations to individual pages on your own site and lists the prompts behind each one; the figures shown are demo data.

The measurement side tracks mention rate, citation rate and share of voice across ten engines, from ChatGPT on Pro up to all ten on Enterprise. Opportunity Agents turn that data into ideas, each with its evidence attached, and the Writer produces the article, ready to publish. Deep IQ keeps your brand context in one place, so the output matches your voice.

DeepSmith's Produced Content view shows a finished article with its cover image, word count and a Publish button for sending it to your CMS; the figures shown are demo data.

Finished articles publish to WordPress, Webflow, Strapi, Sanity or Contentful. Plans run $99 (Pro), $199 (Grow) and $399 (Scale) a month, or $80, $160 and $299 billed annually, plus a custom Enterprise plan. There are no long-term contracts. DeepSmith is rated 4.8/5 on G2.

Compliance documentation

HubSpot AEO has the stronger compliance paper trail of the two. Its parent platform publishes SOC 2 Type II and SOC 3 reports along with HIPAA and GDPR information, and that gives a reviewer something concrete to request. The limit is scope, because AEO is not named in those reports.

Semrush documents PCI DSS Level 1, GDPR adherence, annual penetration tests and a HackerOne bug bounty, all at the company level. A SOC 2 report or ISO 27001 certificate covering the toolkit could not be verified. Teams that need a SOC 2 report will likely have to ask Semrush for one.

What DeepSmith does: DeepSmith holds SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certifications for the platform itself, so the questionnaire answer is direct, and the product keeps tracking and writing under one set of controls.

SSO and data hosting

Semrush has the clearer SSO answer. It documents SAML SSO, enabled through support, and lists SSO, team governance and audit logs under its Enterprise plan. The caveat is that entitlement for the toolkit plan was not verified, and data sits in United States data centers with no documented choice of region.

HubSpot's SAML SSO belongs to the Enterprise tier of its platform, where Marketing Hub Enterprise starts at $3,600 a month plus a one-time $7,000 onboarding fee. That is a big step up from the $50 AEO subscription. EU hosting in Frankfurt and regional hosting in Canada and Australia are platform options, though the AEO processing path is not stated.

For teams with data residency rules, HubSpot documents more choices. For teams that mainly need SSO on a Semrush plan they already pay for, Semrush is the simpler route.

API and data access

HubSpot AEO has a small edge. Its 2026-09-beta developer guide covers reading prompts, runs, answer text, citations and recommendations, and a HubSpot connector gives Claude and ChatGPT access to AEO data. The API is read-only and still in beta, so a security team should treat the contract as subject to change.

Semrush's API documents SEO, Projects, Local and Trends data. The MCP scope lists SEO, traffic and backlink data, and no AI visibility API is documented. API integration is advertised on Semrush One Advanced and Enterprise.

What DeepSmith does: DeepSmith's read-only REST API covers AI visibility, the Content Map, the content library and Deep IQ assets, with an OpenAPI spec published. The API and MCP server only read, so they cannot create or publish content.

Methodology and product maturity

Semrush is more open about how its data is gathered. Its knowledge base says prompt responses are captured from real requests and not through LLM APIs, and it describes a prompt database of 317M+ prompts, a figure the vendor reports itself. It also says its visibility metrics are directional. Brand Performance sentiment refreshes weekly, and Semrush does not publish model versions or how long answer history is kept.

HubSpot labels AEO beta and does not say how answers are collected or which model versions run. Some reviewers describe the recommendations as generic and in need of human review. For an approval process, that makes it harder to document what the tool actually measures.

What DeepSmith does: DeepSmith checks the questions you define on a schedule and keeps full answer history per prompt, so a reviewer can read the answers behind every number. Opportunity Agents then attach the data point behind each content idea, which keeps the audit trail intact from measurement to published article.

Which should you choose

Choosing between the Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit or HubSpot AEO for enterprise use depends on which evidence your reviewers ask for first.

  • DeepSmith fits security-conscious teams that want certification, documented read-only access and content production in one reviewable platform, on a self-serve plan with a free trial.
  • Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit fits teams that already run SEO in Semrush, need SSO, and can accept company-level compliance documents.
  • HubSpot AEO fits teams that sit on HubSpot already, need a SOC 2 report from the vendor, and are comfortable with a beta product on three engines.

Start a free DeepSmith trial and send your security reviewer the documentation alongside the questionnaire.

Frequently asked questions

Does Semrush AI Visibility Toolkit have SOC 2?

Semrush's security page cites PCI DSS Level 1 and GDPR adherence and does not mention SOC 2. A SOC 2 report or ISO 27001 certificate covering the toolkit could not be verified, so you would need to ask Semrush directly.

Is HubSpot AEO covered by HubSpot's SOC 2 report?

HubSpot's platform has SOC 2 Type II reporting, but its published pages do not name AEO in the scope of the report. It is worth asking HubSpot to confirm that AEO is covered, since the product is still in beta.

Which of the two has an API for AI visibility data?

HubSpot AEO has a beta read API for prompts, runs, answers, citations and recommendations. Semrush documents no AI visibility API.

Is there an alternative that has certification and an API?

DeepSmith is SOC 2, GDPR and ISO certified, has a documented read-only REST API and MCP server, and also writes and publishes the articles that close the gaps it finds.