DeepSmith

Oct 26 · Tools & Comparisons

11 min read

Scalenut vs BrandWell (Content at Scale): Is There an API for Automation?

Avinash Saurabh
Avinash Saurabh · CO-Founder & CEO
Monochrome diagram of three content-tool windows, two linked by connector lines to nodes and a plug, under the text Automating Content Through APIs.

For automating content work, BrandWell has a public API and an agent that runs workflow templates, while Scalenut says it has no API and lists no MCP server or workflow builder. Neither lists an MCP server of its own. DeepSmith covers the same ground from the other side: a read-only API, an MCP server and signed webhooks let your systems read data and react, and Autowrite writes and publishes on schedule without manual steps.

If you are weighing Scalenut or BrandWell for automation and your team wants to connect the tool to its own systems, the first thing to check is what each one lets you automate through code. This page answers that for Scalenut vs BrandWell, using what each vendor documents as of September 2026. The full comparison of entry cost and bulk output is a separate page, so I won't repeat it here. The short version is that BrandWell (formerly Content at Scale) offers a public API and workflow automation, and Scalenut does not offer an API. DeepSmith is a third option that does the scheduled writing and publishing and also opens its data to your own tools.

Scalenut vs BrandWell for automation: the short answer

  • Choose DeepSmith if you want articles written and published on a schedule with no one in the app, and you also want your own systems or an AI assistant to read visibility and content data through a read-only API, an MCP server and signed webhooks, from $99 a month.
  • Choose BrandWell if you want to script against a public API and have an agent run workflow templates with approval points, and you can live with API access by request form and a $249 a month entry plan.
  • Choose Scalenut if you want a low-cost guided writing suite at $59 a month and you do not need to connect it to anything through code, because Scalenut says it does not offer an API.
CriterionDeepSmithScalenutBrandWell
Entry price (monthly)$99/mo (Pro)$59/mo (Starter)$249/mo (RankWell Essentials)
Articles per month at entry tier205 (monthly billing)25
Free trial7 days7 days on monthly plansConflicting terms, 3-day satisfaction guarantee on pricing page
Public APIYes, read-onlyNoYes, access by request form
MCP serverYes, 23 read-only toolsNot listedNot listed
Workflow automationAutowrite plus signed webhooksNot listedYes, AIMEE agent and workflow templates
Scheduled publishingYes, AutowritePartial, WordPress schedulingPartial, needs a separate approved delivery path
CMS publishingYes, five CMSs and webhooksYes, WordPress and Shopify (Plus and up)Yes, WordPress and Contentful
AI visibility trackingYes, ten engines by tierYes, ChatGPT and Google AIO on all plansYes, ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity
Review rating4.8/5 on G24.7/5 on G29.1/10 on TrustRadius

Pricing and features as of September 2026, from each vendor's site and public reviews.

Scalenut

Scalenut homepage showing its AI SEO and GEO platform positioning.

Scalenut is an AI SEO writing and optimization suite based in India that now bundles AI answer tracking. Its plans are Starter at $59, Plus at $89 and Professional at $199 a month, and one subscription covers keyword clusters, the Cruise Mode article writer, a content optimizer, internal linking, WordPress and Shopify publishing and weekly AI visibility tracking. It is built for small and mid-size content teams, founders and agencies writing English content who want everything in one low-cost tool.

The standout is that breadth for the money. On review sites it holds 4.7/5 on G2 from 315 reviews and 4.8/5 on Capterra from 397 reviews, checked on September 30, 2026, though Trustpilot shows a 3.2 average from 159 reviews.

For this question the limitation is direct. Scalenut's help center states that it does not currently offer an API, and no MCP server is mentioned anywhere in what it publishes. The AI agents on its homepage run inside its managed VIP Service, and no user-facing workflow builder is described. So whatever you do in Scalenut, you do inside the app. AirOps vs Scalenut for automation looks at the same question against a workflow tool.

BrandWell

BrandWell homepage showing its revenue engine headline and AIMEE agents positioning.

BrandWell is the 2024 rebrand of Content at Scale. Its content product, RankWell, plans, researches, drafts, scores and publishes articles, and Visibility, which is included in every plan, tracks answers on ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Perplexity. Public pricing is $249, $499 and $999 a month for 25, 50 and 100 articles. It is built for teams that want content connected to a wider growth suite, and the suite includes an agent called AIMEE that carries work between products with approval points.

The standout for automation is that it has the pieces. There is a public API reference covering generative AI, projects, posts, ranking data, an AI detector and documents, and AIMEE runs workflow templates and scheduled routines. Surfer SEO vs BrandWell for automation covers the same job against an editor.

The limits are real, though. API access is by request form, plan gating is not stated, and the documented examples date from 2024. BrandWell also states that generation creates editable work, and that publishing and scheduling need a separate approved delivery path. Reviews are few and mostly from 2023: Capterra shows 4.0/5 from 5 reviews on its legacy listing and TrustRadius shows 9.1/10 from 2 reviews.

DeepSmith: the alternative that automates writing and opens its data

DeepSmith homepage showing its AI search analytics and content production platform.

Automating content work has two halves. One is getting articles produced and published without someone clicking through the app, and the other is getting your own tools to see what the platform knows. BrandWell is strong on the second half through its API and agent, and Scalenut covers neither through code. DeepSmith covers both, and keeps each half simple. The wider DeepSmith vs Scalenut page covers writing workflow and tracking. DeepSmith vs Content at Scale does the same for BrandWell's earlier name.

On the production side, Autowrite is the hands-off path. You configure an article at planning time, and it writes itself on its scheduled date against your stored persona, voice and content type, then lands in Produced Content. It can take an article all the way to published, or you can review it first and publish to WordPress, Webflow, Strapi, Sanity or Contentful, or to your own webhooks.

DeepSmith Planned Content screen with an Autowrite panel scheduling an article to write itself on a set date, using demo data.

On the data side, DeepSmith has a read-only REST API with scoped keys, covering AI visibility, the Content Map, the content library including article bodies, and Deep IQ assets. It allows 120 requests per minute per workspace, reads spend no credits, and the OpenAPI spec is published at docs.deepsmith.ai. The MCP server gives an AI assistant 23 read-only tools and works with Claude, Claude Code, Microsoft Copilot, Perplexity, Cursor, VS Code and others, using one URL and an API key per workspace. Signed webhooks (HMAC-SHA256, with automatic retries and a delivery log) notify your systems when content status changes, so you can trigger your own publishing or downstream steps. The API and MCP server read data and do not create content, so the writing itself runs through Autowrite and the Writer.

DeepSmith AI Visibility overview showing mention rate, citation rate and share of voice per engine, using demo data.

Plans are Pro at $99 a month, Grow at $199, Scale at $399 and a custom Enterprise plan, with annual billing lowering the monthly rate and a 7-day free trial.

API access

On the Scalenut vs BrandWell API question, BrandWell wins, and it is not close. Scalenut's help center says it does not currently offer an API, so a team that wants to pull drafts, push keywords or build a reporting job cannot do it. BrandWell documents a public API with endpoints for generative AI, projects, posts, content calendar and ranking data, but you request access through a form, plan gating is not stated, and the examples are from 2024, so confirm the current endpoints before you build on them.

What DeepSmith does: it gives every workspace a read-only API with scoped keys such as visibility:read and content:read. Your reporting tools can pull mention rate, citation rate, share of voice, the AI answers themselves and the content library, without spending credits.

MCP and assistant access

This one is a tie, and the reason is a gap in the records. Neither vendor lists an MCP server for its own product. BrandWell's AIMEE agent can use MCP and OpenAPI tools that you install, which makes it a client rather than a server, so an assistant like Claude cannot read BrandWell data that way. Scalenut mentions no MCP at all. I would treat both as not available until either vendor says otherwise. A wider list sits in our roundup of agentic and MCP content-ops platforms.

What DeepSmith does: its MCP server connects an assistant to your workspace so you can ask about visibility, competitors, the Content Map and the content library in a conversation. It only reads, so nothing in the workspace changes by accident.

Workflows and agents

BrandWell wins here. AIMEE runs workflow templates and scheduled routines across its products, with triggers, owners and named approval points, and a separate Automations page describes trigger-based workflows. Our guide to agentic content automation explains how agents and MCP fit into a content pipeline. Scalenut documents fixed guided steps, such as Cruise Mode and the cluster to article path, but no workflow or agent builder you can use yourself.

From insight to action

On scheduled publishing, BrandWell and Scalenut land in the same place, because both are listed as partial. Scalenut's WordPress Publisher can schedule and publish drafts, and auto-publish to WordPress and Shopify starts on Plus, but writing on a schedule without manual steps is not described. BrandWell has an editorial calendar and scheduled AIMEE routines, but it says generation creates editable work and publishing needs an approved delivery path. For a team that wants to remove steps, that is a tie with an asterisk on each side.

What DeepSmith does: Autowrite writes on the scheduled date and the article lands in Produced Content with no one in the app, and Opportunity Agents supply the backlog with the data point behind each idea. Signed webhooks then let your own systems react when content status changes.

Which should you choose

  • DeepSmith fits a team that wants production to run on a schedule and also wants its data available to its own tools, whether that means a dashboard built on the API, an assistant connected over MCP, or a webhook that triggers your publishing step.
  • BrandWell fits a team that wants to script against a public API and have an agent run approved workflow templates, and that is comfortable requesting API access and confirming how current the documentation is.
  • Scalenut fits a team that wants a guided, low-cost SEO writing suite and does not plan to connect it to other systems through code.

If you want to see the automation side on your own workspace, you can start a DeepSmith free trial and connect the API, MCP server or webhooks during the 7 days.

Frequently asked questions

Does Scalenut have an API?

No. Scalenut's help center says it does not currently offer an API, and the research found no Zapier, Slack or BI connector. It does publish to WordPress and Shopify from inside the app.

Does BrandWell have an API?

Yes. BrandWell has a public API reference covering generative AI, projects, posts, ranking data and documents, and access is by request form. The documentation examples date from 2024 and plan gating is not stated, so check with the vendor before you plan around it.

Do Scalenut or BrandWell have an MCP server?

Neither lists one. BrandWell's AIMEE agent can use MCP tools you install, but that is the reverse direction, and no BrandWell MCP server is documented. Scalenut does not mention MCP.

Is there an alternative to Scalenut and BrandWell that also supports API and MCP access?

DeepSmith does. It has a read-only REST API, an MCP server with 23 read-only tools and HMAC-signed webhooks, along with Autowrite for scheduled writing and publishing. The API and MCP server read data, and the writing runs through Autowrite and the Writer.